McCain/Palin will lose the election

In choosing Palin as his Vice Presidential Candidate, McCain swung for the fences. To have a real chance of winning the election against an opponent with the magnetism of John F. Kennedy he had to. Electing a V.P. Candidate from the good ole boy network would have doomed him to failure. McCain was right to align himself with a popular figure outside the Washington beltway. Somebody ordinary people can relate to. A fighter. A maverick. A leader who can reach across party lines. Palin was billed to embody all these admirable traits. Unfortunately, her speech at the Republican Convention revealed an ailin’ Palin whom independent minded voters cannot identify with.

To her credit Palin succeeded in positioning herself as a fighter and a straight talker who can relate to ordinary people in rural America. And she energized the conservative base, but in doing so alienated the critically needed independently minded voters, who are looking for conciliatory leadership.

Palin speech epitomized the black and white world view of George W. Bush. Smoothing music to the ears of the neocons and social conservative base, but the sound of scratching a chalk board to those who come from the middle. Instead of advocating America to be the world leader of alternative energy, she placed too much importance on the need for America to drill more oil. Instead of reaching out to protect the working class including equal educational opportunity for their children with school vouchers, she reached out to Corporate America to protect their profits. Instead of praising Obama for his work as a community organizer and linking herself on the same grassroots level as mayor of a small town, she squandered this opportunity by insulting the noble efforts of community organizers.

The winner of this election will be the one who appeals most to the middle. Time and time again Obama wisely speaks about unifying this nation. As the 44th President of the United States, he will be given that chance.

R.I.P. The McCain/Palin ticket

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “McCain/Palin will lose the election”

  1. christianliberal Says:

    Actually I like all four presidential contenders.

    McCain is a maverick.
    Palin is inexperienced, but a quick study, and nobody’s fool.

    Obama is dedicated to helping Americans on the home front.
    Biden has a long history of experience with foreign affairs.

    What it comes down to for me is:
    => WHICH CANDIDATES PROMISE TO END THE HUNDREDS
    OF BILLIONS OF OF DOLLARS BEING POURED DOWN
    THE DRAIN in Iraq, and which want to continue the war effort,
    no end, no horizon in sight.

    For that crucial issue, the Obama team wins hands down.
    My humble opinion.
    Sorry, Sarah!

  2. mike Says:

    I applaud Sarah’s response above. It is ironic that as a country we are turning our backs on the needy in the United States and yet all too willing to spend $10 billion a month on a false war and attempt to force independence on a country that hasn’t proven that it wants independence.

    We need to focus on the heart and soul of our country – the working men and women that sacrifice for their families in order to attempt to provide a better way of life.

  3. Justin Says:

    This man does not seem like the kind of person I want to be President.
    What do uou think??

    Obama Quotes

    http://www.factcheck.org/askfactcheck/did_obama_write_that_he_would_stand.html

    Actual quote from “Dreams from My Father” [pg. 220]: Yes, I’d seen weakness in other men – Gramps and his disappointments, Lolo and his compromise. But these men had become object lessons for me, men I might love but never emulate, white men and brown men whose fates didn’t speak to my own. It was into my father’s image, the black man, son of Africa, that I’d packed all the attributes I sought in myself, the attributes of Martin and Malcolm, DuBois and Mandela. And if later I saw that the black men I knew – Frank or Ray or Will or Rafiq – fell short of such lofty standards; if I had learned to respect these men for the struggles they went through, recognizing them as my own – my father’s voice had nevertheless remained untainted, inspiring, rebuking, granting or withholding approval. You do not work hard enough, Barry. You must help in your people’s struggle. Wake up, black man!

    Actual quote from “Dreams from My Father” [pgs. 141-142]: Now he was trying to pull urban blacks and suburban whites together around a plan to save manufacturing jobs in metropolitan Chicago. He needed somebody to work with him, he said. Somebody black. …

    He offered to start me off at ten thousand dollars the first year, with a two-thousand-dollar travel allowance to buy a car; the salary would go up if things worked out. After he was gone, I took the long way home, along the East River promenade, and tried to figure out what to make of the man. He was smart, I decided. He seemed committed to his work. Still, there was something about him that made me wary. A little too sure of himself, maybe. And white – he’d said himself that that was a problem.

    Actual quote from “Dreams from My Father” [pg. xv]: When people who don’t know me well, black or white, discover my background (and it is usually a discovery, for I ceased to advertise my mother’s race at the age of twelve or thirteen, when I began to suspect that by doing so I was ingratiating myself to whites), I see the split-second adjustments they have to make, the searching of my eyes for some telltale sign. They no longer know who I am. Privately, they guess at my troubled heart, I suppose – the mixed blood, the divided soul, the ghostly image of the tragic mulatto trapped between two worlds. And if I were to explain that no, the tragedy is not mine, or at least not mine alone, it is yours, sons and daughters of Plymouth Rock and Ellis Island, it is yours, children of Africa, it is the tragedy of both my wife’s six-year-old cousin and his white first grade classmates, so that you need not guess at what troubles me, it’s on the nightly news for all to see, and that if we could acknowledge at least that much then the tragic cycle begins to break down…well, I suspect that I sound incurably naive, wedded to lost hopes, like those Communists who peddle their newspapers on the fringes of various college towns. Or worse, I sound like I’m trying to hide from myself.

    Actual quote from “Dreams from My Father” [pg. 100-101]: To avoid being mistaken for a sellout, I chose my friends carefully. The more politically active black students. The foreign students. The Chicanos. The Marxist professors and structural feminists and punk-rock performance poets. We smoked cigarettes and wore leather jackets. At night, in the dorms, we discussed necolonialism, Franz Fanon, Eurocentrism, and patriarchy. When we ground out our cigarettes in the hallway carpet or set our stereos so loud that the walls began to shake, we were resisting bourgeois society’s stifling constraints. We weren’t indifferent or careless or insecure. We were alienated. But this strategy alone couldn’t provide the distance I wanted, from Joyce or my past. After all, there were thousands of so-called campus radicals, most of them white and tenured and happily tolerated. No, it remained necessary to prove which side you were on, to show your loyalty to the black masses, to strike out and name names.

    Sources
    Obama, Barack. The Audacity of Hope. New York: Crown Publishers, 2006.

    Obama, Barack. Dreams from My Father. New York: Crown Publishers, 2004.

Leave a Reply

