Interrogated by Wal-Mart?

I was interrogated in a dark, back room by Wal-Mart…in a dream. I had been caught by the hidden cameras passing through the sterile aisles. My offense: placing yellow stickers of a frowning face over the those annoying, yellow smilng faces, both of which are simple drawings with black dots for eyes and a black, curving line for a mouth.

The interrogators wanted to know my motive for this subversive activity and which organization put me up to this. I do remember acting on my own accord. I wish I could tell you the rest of the story, but dreams are often fragments of stories, and in this story there was only a beginning and a scant middle. I don’t know if my destiny was death by the firing squad.

What may have spun this dream is the local news of Wal-Mart gaining traction to build a superstore. Shouldn’t I put on my consumer, happy face about this news? Wal-Mart does some good for society. It offers low prices, reducing expenses for the poor. To a degree, it promotes healthy living by carrying some organic produce and at lower prices than from “Whole Paycheck” Whole Foods. It owns the world’s most efficient distribution system, which was used to help Katrina victims. Wal-Mart also provides employment in the ghettos. (Clap. Clap. Clap.)

Why then do I still hate Wal-Mart? Mom and Pop retail stores close shop because they cannot compete with Wal-Mart. Grocery stores with its union workers cannot compete either against mighty Wal-Mart with its low wage workforce. A Wal-Mart superstore changes the whole economic landscape in a community. Welcome to serfdom, 21st century, ultra-capitalist style. Never did I think we could learn anything useful from the communist, but in dealing with Wal-Mart we can. Communist China forced a union of workers at Wal-Mart stores in China. America should do the same.

Leave a Reply

